My interview with Jason Luke #InterviewwithaMaster

(This interview is translated into Danish and starts right under the English version)

I heard about the book ’Interview with a Master’ by Jason Luke before it was even published and immediately knew I had to read this one. Why you might ask? Well, because I’ve, as any other woman on this planet, I’ve read the Fifty Shades trilogy, and it left me very intrigued by the whole BDSM lifestyle but I wanted to know more without a passionate love story overshadowing the ‘facts’ about BDSM.

1782157_421350061332252_529399419_n

Luckily, it was possible to get “IwaM” as a paperback and I ordered it right away. It didn’t take me long to read it but it left me hanging and I’m still thinking about the book… A LOT! The ending left me sobbing! I’m not sure I’ve fully understood the ending yet – yes, I know what’s written but not sure I accept it. In my mind, I keep making up excuses for Jonah Noble and his situation… sorry but it’s the truth.
Thankfully, Jason Luke has revealed that he will write a sequel *happy dance* and let’s hope he sorts out the whole mess he lefts us in, in the end of book 1.

Anyways, I asked the author, Jason Luke (JL), if I could interview him even though I’m not part of a book club or have a book blog like that – I blog about life and things that moves me and Jason Luke did just that! He accepted and I’m very happy about that, but also a little ‘intimidated’ because I don’t want to seem like a complete amateur (After all this could be the interview of my life *winks*) even though I am when it comes to interviewing people but hopefully you’ll enjoy my questions to this author.

So Mr. Luke or do you prefer Jason?

JL: Jason

Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to ask you some questions that this book has left me with.

Let’s get started right away.

Right, so we know that you have experience in the BDSM lifestyle – Jonah talks about this in the book but do you, as an author, think there are too many misconceptions about the lifestyle? I mean, some think it’s something that can only take place in a gloomy dungeon.

JL: I am not an expert on the BDSM lifestyle. I am a writer. Interview with a Master is a fictional story that includes some elements of my own personal past experience. I do not think BDSM has any constraints other than those that the people who enjoy the lifestyle place upon themselves.

When did you decide to write ‘Interview with a Master’? And why?

JL: I decided to write Interview with a Master after publishing two zombie novels that both sold well on Amazon. Writing both of those zombie books was difficult – I struggled to find the right words, and was always halting to do research. The idea for Interview with a Master came to me one day in January, when I realized Jonah was a character I knew and the lifestyle was something I was familiar with. I started writing the very next day and finished the novel in three weeks.

In the very beginning of the book, Jonah isn’t satisfied with the quality of Leticia’s questions: “Miss Fall, the questions you’ve asked me were superficial and quite frankly immature. I don’t know what I’ve told you in the last thirty minutes, but whatever it was, it was the same thing I’ve told a thousand other journalists over the past five years, you didn’t need to interview me for the information you got – you just had to read what everyone else has written.” (Page 4)

– but did Jonah really think that her questions did develop into something deeper or was it simply the attraction to her that made him give her a second chance?

JL: Jonah made that interview. Jonah chose Leticia to tell his story. Leticia didn’t suddenly become an insightful journalist, Jonah had to hold the door open for her and show her the way. In fact Leticia never asked the sort of questions I would expect from an experienced journalist. She asked questions governed by her on fascination and curiosity. The story had to play out this way – if Leticia asked a journalists questions the reader would be removed from the conversation. The reason I made Leticia inexperienced was to provide a vehicle for the naturally curious questions about the lifestyle that a reader might want to ask.

In the end of the book, he tells Leticia why he wanted her to write his story – had he really talked to other journalists about his lifestyle or was that just a lie?

JL: Jonah Noble would be giving interviews and talking to the media constantly. But Jonah Noble is not the sort of person to let a journalist dictate the course of an interview. Therefore it is safe to assume that Jonah had the choice of giving his story to several journalists but chose Leticia.

Jonah breaks into Leticia’s apartment, did he do that because he wanted to do the same to her as he did with Claire (lurking) – I know he mentions the lingerie but surely, that couldn’t be the only reason, right?

JL: Jonah enters Leticia’s apartment (he owns the building) because it serves the story, and I thought it was a really good scene. There is no deeper meaning. Interview with a Master is a work of fiction.

“To my way of thinking, a good Master is the iron fist within a velvet glove,” I said. “The man needs to be firm and resolute. He needs to be confident and assured. He needs to be her rock: the one man in the world his submissive can turn to for advice, help, guidance and comfort. And he needs to be able to arouse and excite her. He needs to be able to keep her on edge and off balance. He needs to know her better than she knows herself – and he needs to be all these things to her without losing his honor, or destroying her dignity and independence. He needs to lift her up, Leticia, so that she becomes the person she wants to be, and then he needs to hold her there so she never ever fall.”

Jonah Noble isn’t looking for love so why did he arrange the romantic dinner on the rooftop of Leticia’s apartment complex if he didn’t want to fall for her or have her fall for him. It seemed like a pretty romantic gesture to do – Did you try to let us see that Jonah could somehow lose control as well?

JL: No. Jonah Noble is always in full control. Everything Jonah does is for a reason. The reader can draw into that candle lit dinner anything they want. They might believe Jonah did it to impress Leticia. They might believe Jonah did it because he didn’t want to go to a restaurant. It is entirely up to the reader to draw their own conclusions. To me it was a way to move the characters into a different environment and show other aspects of their personality.

The whole episode with Jonah forcing Claire to satisfy him in his dad’s study, was it on purpose that he left her bra on the floor for Oliver the gardener to see it lying there?

JL: Yes. It was a deliberate ploy by young Jonah – it was a dare, and a defiant gesture.

Still in the dad’s study: did Jonah want to be caught?

JL: I think at 19 years old Jonah felt he was above any threat or danger from the family gardener. I don’t think Jonah cared if he got caught by the gardener.

“I’ve never loved any woman,” I said. “I’ve cared for them, protected them, been a Master to them, and lusted after them – but not once have I allowed myself to fall in love.”

ANTICIPATION plays a big part of this book and Jonah is quite the Master of this – but does he somehow get a little of his own ‘medicine’ since he never has sex with Leticia or doesn’t he think about that?

JL: Not for one minute did Jonah ever truly consider the idea of having sex with Leticia. I think Jonah is wise enough and old enough to realize the possible emotional implications for Leticia if that were to happen. I point you to Jonah’s surname. Within his surname is the true essence of Jonah’s character.

Jonah explains to Leticia what women want etc. (Can I share page 195-196 where Jonah talks about juices as honey?)

JL: Sure.

”She pleaded for me to take her on as my submissive. She promised she would deny me nothing. I told her it all depended on the taste of her pussy – and then I eased my fingers from inside her and held them up close to my face.

“Caroline’s eyes fluttered open. My fingers were slick and glistening with the juices of her arousal. I slowly licked at the taste, and then slid my fingers into my mouth. I narrowed my eyes, kept my expression stern and made her wait.

“You taste like honey,” I told her.

Leticia was fascinated. She had moved as I spoke. Now she was sitting on the edge of her chair, with her elbows on her knees and her hands cupping her chin. “Did she? I mean, did she really taste like that?”

I gave Leticia my serious face. “Leticia, no woman tastes like honey – but every man should tell the woman he is with that she does.”

“What does that mean?”

“It means that every woman I have ever known intimately has been inhibited and self-conscious about the way their pussy might taste to a man.”

“Why?”

I shrugged. ”How the hell would I know? You tell me. All I know is that women relax and let themselves go sexually once a man reassures her that he loves the way she tastes. I tell women they taste like honey. That’s the line I use, because I want them to relax and I want them to enjoy the experience of my tongue deep between their legs and licking their clit. Good sex isn’t possible if the woman I’m with is tense and anxious.”

Jonah doesn’t do the whole contract thing and I know he explains why he doesn’t – but could it be that he really don’t need them since it doesn’t seem like he really uses the whole BDSM part with soft/hard limits? (If you’ve read some more hardcore BDSM books, Jonah Noble seems more ‘gentle’ if you know what I mean.)

JS: As Jonah said in the book – he has no great fondness for BDSM contracts. That is because he can see the irrelevance of them from his standpoint.

“Right now, guys in loving relationships with their wives all around America are suddenly being asked to spank, whip or maybe handcuff their woman. Most men in a relationship confronted in that way would say something like ‘I don’t want to hurt you’ – and despite all of the wife’s reassurances, the guy won’t budge, because he has always seen the woman through ‘loving eyes’. It’s hard for him to switch, and discover that place where he can become detached just sufficiently enough to make BDSM work without guilt, or inhibition.”

What was the most difficult trait of Jonah to write about?

JL: The most difficult part of getting Jonah’s character down on paper was creating a man who was firm and had a presence, but hopefully never coming across as arrogant. I never wanted the reader to feel like Jonah had an inflated opinion of himself.

Just another quote I want to share because I really like it!

“See,” she said wryly. “My phone rings – and now I am going to adapt to what life is about to hand me. If it had been your phone, Jonah, you probably would have been able to will it into silence.” I smiled into her eyes. “If it had been my phone, Leticia, I would have turned it off ten minutes ago.” 

My all-time favorite scene from the book is where Jonah takes Leticia into the training room, the atmosphere that’s being created when Leticia is handcuffed with her hands around his neck is super hot, intense and filled with passion. What’s your all-time favorite scene that you’ve written in this book if you can pick any?

JL: The scene you are referring to is my favorite too. Initially that whole segment with the handcuffs and the key and the suggestive conversation did not exist. There was a time in the story were the characters kissed, but when I showed it to my girlfriend she felt there was an opportunity to draw out the tension and build momentum towards the kiss. So I created the whole handcuff scene out of thin air. I did it because I wanted to stretch out the reader’s anticipation for what was about to follow.

“I went to the kitchen, found a glass in a cupboard and filled it with tap water. As a rule I never drank the stuff. Fish have sex in water… think about that…” (Page 236) – why this statement? (I find it funny but still, not sure if I’m overlooking anything *grins*)

JL: There is nothing to overlook. Interview with a Master is a work of fiction. That line about fish having sex in water was simply a moment of whimsy. I simply threw it in there because it was unexpected and because it showed a lateral kind of thinking for Jonah’s character.

 

“You see, women need to feel loved in order to want sex. And men need sex, in order to feel loved.”

 

Do you listen to music while you write?

JL: No. Generally I cannot write unless it is perfectly quite. The slightest distraction makes it impossible for me to work. My favorite bands are INXS and U2 but I wouldn’t even risk listening to either of my favorite acts when I was trying to write. I know writing fiction is not brain surgery, but I do take it seriously and I do need to concentrate.

Are you the type of writer who just writes away on your computer, or do you use a lot of time on the plot, the characters etc.

JL: Before I wrote Interview with a Master I read a book called ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King. I am a lot like Jonah Noble – I like to be in control and I absolutely hate surprises, but when I sat down to write Interview with a Master I decided that Stephen King guy had done alright for himself and that maybe I could do worse than follow his advice. So I just started writing with nothing but two characters, my past personal experiences and an ending for the book.

When you just published the book, you didn’t intend to make a continuation – how come you’ve changed your mind – because of the huge demand or did Jonah’s story just develop more?

JL: Jonah’s story has not developed at all. I can say to you right now, with my hand on my heart, I have absolutely no idea what is going to happen when I sit down to start writing the sequel in April. I don’t know what will happen to the characters. I don’t know if there will be a Happily Ever After. I agreed to write the sequel because so many people seemed invested in Jonah and Leticia’s story. It wasn’t my decision.

1010191_405503172918637_1695788100_n

I could ask you several more questions but I guess, I can’t write a novel about you but you really succeeded to write a book that left me hanging with a million of questions – I’ve never tried that before. It’s a little frustrating, to be honest.

Jason Luke, thank you so much for taking the time to do this interview and I hope you enjoyed the questions.

XOXO Maja

Buy Jason Luke’s ‘Interview with a Master’ here (both Kindle and paperback edition)

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Interview-Master-Jason-Luke-ebook/dp/B00IB32RZY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393063734&sr=8-1&keywords=interview+with+a+master
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Interview-Master-Jason-Luke/dp/1495472418/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393063815&sr=8-1&keywords=interview+with+a+master
FOLLOW Jason Luke on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JasonLukeAuthor
LIKE Jason Luke on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JasonLukeAuthor

 

Danish version of the interview with Jason Luke

 

Jeg hørte om bogen ”Interview with a Master” af Jason Luke inden den overhovedet var udgivet og jeg vidste med det samme, at den måtte jeg bare læse. Hvorfor tænker du måske? Fordi jeg, ligesom så mange andre kvinder på denne jord har læst Fifty Shades trilogien, og den efterlod mig meget nysgerrig omkring BDSM livsstilen men jeg ville gerne vide mere uden en stor kærlighedshistorie til at overskygge emnet og fakta omkring BDSM.

1782157_421350061332252_529399419_n

Heldigvis var det muligt købe ”IwaM” som paperback og jeg bestilte den med det samme. Det tog mig ikke lang tid at læse den, men den efterlod mig eftertænksom og jeg tænker faktisk stadig over den bog… MEGET!

Slutningen fik mig til at græde. Jeg er ikke helt sikker på at jeg endnu forstår slutningen – ja, jeg kan jo læse hvad der er skrevet men jeg er ikke sikker på at jeg accepterer det. Inde i mit hoved, bliver jeg ved med at finde på undskyldninger for Jonah Noble og hans situation… undskyld, men det er sandheden.

Heldigvis har Jason Luke allerede afsløret at han vil gå i gang med at skrive fortsættelsen *glædesdans* og lad os så håbe at han rydder op i det rod han har efterladt os i, i bog 1.

Men, jeg spurgte forfatteren, Jason Luke (JL), om jeg kunne få lov til at interviewe ham selvom jeg ikke er en del af en bog klub eller blogger om bøger generelt – jeg blogger om livet og de ting som bevæger mig og Jason Luke gjorde præcist dette. Han accepterede og det er jeg meget glad for, men også en smule ’intimideret’ da jeg ikke vil virke som en amatør selvom jeg er det når det kommer til at interviewe folk, men forhåbentligt vil du nyde mine spørgsmål til denne forfatter.

Så, Mr. Luke eller foretrækker du Jason?

JL: Jason

Tusind tak fordi du giver mig muligheden for at stille dig nogle spørgsmål som denne bog har efterladt mig med.

Lad os starte med det samme.

Godt så, vi ved at du selv har erfaring med BDSM livsstilen – Jonah snakker om det i denne bog men tror du, som forfatter, at der er for mange misforståelser om denne livsstil? Jeg mener, nogle mennesker tror at det kun kan ske i dystre fangekældre.

JL: Jeg er ikke en ekspert mht. BDSM livsstilen. Jeg er en forfatter. Interview with a Master er en fiktiv historie som inkluderer nogle elementer af mine egne personlige erfaringer fra fortiden. Jeg tror ikke at BDSM har nogle begrænsninger andet end dem folk der dyrker BDSM selv laver.

Hvornår besluttede du dig for at skrive ”Interview with a Master”? Og hvorfor?

JL: Jeg besluttede mig for at skrive Interview with a Master efter at have udgivet to Zombie romaner som begge solgte ret på Amazon. Det var svært at skrive begge zombie bøger – jeg kæmpede med at finde de rette ord, og stoppede altid med at forske. Ideen med Interview with a Master kom til mig en dag i januar, da jeg indså at Jonah var en karakter jeg kendte og at livsstilen var noget jeg var bekendt med. Jeg begyndte at skrive dagen efter og var færdig med romanen i løbet af tre uger.

I starten af bogen, er Jonah ikke tilfreds med kvaliteten af Leticias spørgsmål: ”Miss Fall, the questions you’ve asked me were superficial and quite frankly immature. I don’t know what I’ve told you in the last thirty minutes, but whatever it was, it was the same thing I’ve told a thousand other journalists over the past five years, you didn’t need to interview me for the information you got – you just had to read what everyone else has written.” (side 4) – Men synes Jonah virkeligt at hendes spørgsmål udviklede sig eller var det simpelthen tiltrækningen til hende som fik Jonah til at give hende en chance mere?

JL: Jonah lavede det interview. Jonah valgte Leticia til at fortælle hans historie. Leticia blev ikke lige pludseligt en indsigtsfuld journalist, Jonah var nødt til at holde døren åben for hende og vise hende vejen. Faktisk, spurgte Leticia aldrig nogle spørgsmål som jeg ville forvente fra en erfaren journalist. Hun spurgte om spørgsmål som var styret af hendes egen fascination og nysgerrighed. Historien var nødt til at gå sin gang – hvis Leticia havde spurgt journalistiske spørgsmål ville læseren blive fjernet fra samtalen. Grunden til at jeg gjorde Leticia uerfaren var for at sørge for naturligt nysgerrige spørgsmål om livsstilen som læseren måske også ville have spurgt.

I slutningen af bogen, fortæller han Leticia hvorfor han ville have hende til at skrive hans historie – havde han virkelig snakket med andre journalister omkring hans livsstil eller var det blot en løgn?

JL: Jonah Noble ville give interviews og snakke med medierne hele tiden. Men Jonah Noble er ikke typen som vil lade en journalist diktere retningen af et interview. Derfor er det helt sikkert at vurdere at Jonah havde muligheden for at give sin historie til mange andre journalister men han valgte Leticia.

Jonah bryder ind i Leticias lejlighed, gjorde han det fordi han ville gøre det samme imod hende som han gjorde imod Claire (at lure) – jeg ved godt at han nævner undertøjet men det kan da ikke være den eneste grund, vel?

JL: Jonah går ind i Leticias lejlighed (han ejer bygningen) fordi det gør godt for historien, og jeg synes det er en meget god scene. Der er ikke nogen dybere mening. Interview with a Master er fiktion.

“To my way of thinking, a good Master is the iron fist within a velvet glove,” I said. “The man needs to be firm and resolute. He needs to be confident and assured. He needs to be her rock: the one man in the world his submissive can turn to for advice, help, guidance and comfort. And he needs to be able to arouse and excite her. He needs to be able to keep her on edge and off balance. He needs to know her better than she knows herself – and he needs to be all these things to her without losing his honor, or destroying her dignity and independence. He needs to lift her up, Leticia, so that she becomes the person she wants to be, and then he needs to hold her there so she never ever fall.”

Jonah Noble leder ikke efter kærligheden, så hvorfor arrangerede han den romantiske middag på taget af Leticias boligblok hvis han ikke ville falde for hende eller have hende til at falde for ham. Det virker som en ret romantisk gestus at gøre – Forsøgte du at vise os at Jonah kunne på en eller anden måde miste kontrol?

JL: Nej. Jonah Noble er altid i fuld kontrol. Alt hvad Jonah gør, gør han af en grund. Læseren er velkommen til at få hvad end de har lyst til at få ud af den romantiske middag. De vil måske tro at Jonah ville imponere Leticia. De vil måske tro at Jonah gjorde det fordi han ikke havde lyst til at gå ud for at spise. Det er helt op til læseren at drage egne konklusioner. For mig var det en måde at bevæge karaktererne ind i et andet slags miljø og vise andre aspekter af deres personligheder.

Hele episoden hvor Jonah tvinger Claire til at tilfredsstille ham på hans fars kontor, var det med vilje at han efterlod hendes BH på gulvet så Oliver (gartneren) ville se den?

JL: Ja. Det var et overlagt trick af unge Jonah – det var et vovestykke og en trodsig gestus.

Stadig på farens kontor: Ville Jonah gerne tages på fersk gerning?

JL: Jeg tror at 19 årige Jonah mente at han var ovenpå og ikke i fare i forhold til familie gartneren. Jeg tror Jonah var ligeglad med om han blev taget på fersk gerning eller ej.

 

“I’ve never loved any woman,” I said. “I’ve cared for them, protected them, been a Master to them, and lusted after them – but not once have I allowed myself to fall in love.”

 

FORVENTNING spiller en stor del i bogen og Jonah mestrer det virkelig – men får han på en eller anden måde lidt af sin egen ’medicin’ da han ikke har sex med Leticia eller tænker han slet ikke over det?

JL: Ikke for et eneste minut, overvejede Jonah at have sex med Leticia. Jeg tror Jonah er klog og gammel nok til at indse de mulige følelsesladede implikationer for Leticia hvis det var sket. Jeg lægger tryk på Jonahs efternavn. I det efternavn er essensen af Jonahs karakter.

Jonah forklarer Leticia hvad kvinder vil have osv. (Kan jeg dele side 195-196 hvor Jonah snakker om væsker som honning?)

JL: Selvfølgelig.

”She pleaded for me to take her on as my submissive. She promised she would deny me nothing. I told her it all depended on the taste of her pussy – and then I eased my fingers from inside her and held them up close to my face.

“Caroline’s eyes fluttered open. My fingers were slick and glistening with the juices of her arousal. I slowly licked at the taste, and then slid my fingers into my mouth. I narrowed my eyes, kept my expression stern and made her wait.

“You taste like honey,” I told her.

Leticia was fascinated. She had moved as I spoke. Now she was sitting on the edge of her chair, with her elbows on her knees and her hands cupping her chin. “Did she? I mean, did she really taste like that?”

I gave Leticia my serious face. “Leticia, no woman tastes like honey – but every man should tell the woman he is with that she does.”

“What does that mean?”

“It means that every woman I have ever known intimately has been inhibited and self-conscious about the way their pussy might taste to a man.”

“Why?”

I shrugged. ”How the hell would I know? You tell me. All I know is that women relax and let themselves go sexually once a man reassures her that he loves the way she tastes. I tell women they taste like honey. That’s the line I use, because I want them to relax and I want them to enjoy the experience of my tongue deep between their legs and licking their clit. Good sex isn’t possible if the woman I’m with is tense and anxious.”

Jonah laver ikke kontrakter og han forklarer hvorfor han ikke gør det – men kunne det være fordi han egentlig ikke har brug for dem eftersom han ikke bruger den BDSM del hvor man snakker om ’soft/hard limits’ (Hvis man har læst nogle mere hardcore BDSM bøger, så virker Jonah Noble mere blid, hvis du forstår hvad jeg mener.)

JL: Som Jonah sagde i bogen – han er ikke vild med BDSM kontrakter da han fra hans synspunkt ikke kan se relevansen af kontrakter.

“Right now, guys in loving relationships with their wives all around America are suddenly being asked to spank, whip or maybe handcuff their woman. Most men in a relationship confronted in that way would say something like ‘I don’t want to hurt you’ – and despite all of the wife’s reassurances, the guy won’t budge, because he has always seen the woman through ‘loving eyes’. It’s hard for him to switch, and discover that place where he can become detached just sufficiently enough to make BDSM work without guilt, or inhibition.”

Hvilket et af Jonahs karakter træk var sværest at skrive?

JL: Det mest vanskelige ved at skabe Jonahs karakter på papiret, var at skabe en mand som var hård og havde en tilstedeværelse, men som forhåbentlig ikke virkede arrogant. Jeg har aldrig ville have læseren til at synes at Jonah har en opblæst mening om sig selv.

Bare endnu et citat jeg virkelig gerne vil dele da jeg er vild med det:

“See,” she said wryly. “My phone rings – and now I am going to adapt to what life is about to hand me. If it had been your phone, Jonah, you probably would have been able to will it into silence.” I smiled into her eyes. “If it had been my phone, Leticia, I would have turned it off ten minutes ago.” 

Min yndlingsscene i bogen er der hvor Jonah tager Leticia ind i træningsrummet, atmosfæren der bliver skabt da Leticia bliver lagt i håndjern, med sine hænder rundt om Jonahs nakke, er super hot, intens og fyldt med passion. Hvad er din yndlingsscene som du har skrevet, hvis du kan vælge en?

JL: Den scene du refererer til er også min favorit scene. Faktisk eksisterede scenen med håndjernene og nøglerne og den suggestive samtale ikke i begyndelsen. Der var et tidspunkt hvor karaktererne kyssede hinanden, men da jeg viste det til min kæreste følte hun at der var en mulighed for at trække spændingen hen imod kysset. Så jeg skabte hele håndjernsscenen ud af den blå luft. Jeg gjorde det fordi jeg gerne ville nå ud til læserens forventning om hvad der skulle ske.

“I went to the kitchen, found a glass in a cupboard and filled it with tap water. As a rule I never drank the stuff. Fish have sex in water… think about that…” (side 236) – Hvorfor denne sætning? (Jeg synes den er sjov men aner ikke lige om der er noget jeg overser *griner*)

JL: Der er ikke noget at overse. Interview with a Master er fiktion. Den sætning om at fiskene har sex i vand var bare et øjeblik af finurlighed. Jeg puttede det ind der fordi det var uventet og fordi det viste en utraditionel tankegang for Jonahs karakter.

“You see, women need to feel loved in order to want sex. And men need sex, in order to feel loved.”

Lytter du til musik når du skriver?

JL: Nej. Generelt kan jeg ikke skrive medmindre der er komplet stilhed. Den mindste distraktion gør det umuligt for mig at arbejde. Mine yndlingsbands er INXS og U2 men jeg ville ikke engang risikere at lytte til nogen af dem når jeg prøver at skrive. Jeg ved godt at fiktion ikke er hjerne kirurgi, men jeg tager det alvorligt og jeg har brug for at koncentrere mig.

Er du den type forfatter som bare skriver løs på din computer, eller bruger du meget tid på selve plottet, karaktererne osv.

JL: Før jeg skrev Interview with a Master læste jeg en bog som hedder ’On writing’ af Stephen King. Jeg er meget som Jonah Noble – jeg kan godt lide at være i kontrol og jeg hader overraskelser, men da jeg satte mig ned for at skrive Interview with a Master, besluttede jeg mig for at ham der Stephen King fyren har gjort det ret godt for ham selv og måske jeg kunne gøre det værre ved ikke at følge hans råd. Så jeg startede med intet andet end to karakter, mine tidligere erfaringer og en slutning for bogen.

Da du først udgav bogen, var det ikke din mening at skrive en fortsættelse – hvorfor har du ændret mening – er det på grund af den store efterspørgsel eller udviklede Jonahs historie sig bare?

JL: Jonahs historie har overhovedet ikke udviklet sig. Lige nu kan jeg fortælle dig, med hånden på mit hjerte, at jeg har ingen ide om hvad der kommer til at ske når jeg sætter mig ned for at skrive fortsættelsen i april. Jeg ved ikke hvad der vil ske med karaktererne. Jeg ved ikke om der bliver en ’levede lykkelig til deres dages ende’. Jeg e r gået med til at skrive fortsættelsen fordi så mange mennesker har investeret sig selv i Jonah og Leticias historie. Det var ikke min beslutning.

1010191_405503172918637_1695788100_n

Jeg kunne sagtens spørge dig om mange flere spørgsmål men jeg går ud fra, at jeg kan ikke skrive en roman om dig men du har virkelig formået at skrive en bog, som har efterladt mig med en million spørgsmål – det har jeg aldrig prøvet før. Det er lidt frustrerende, for at være helt ærlig.

Jason Luke, mange tak fordi du tog dig tid til at lave dette interview og jeg håber du nød spørgsmålene.

XOXO Maja

Køb Jason Luke’s ‘Interview with a Master’ på Amazon (både Kindle og paperback version)

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Interview-Master-Jason-Luke-ebook/dp/B00IB32RZY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393063734&sr=8-1&keywords=interview+with+a+master
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Interview-Master-Jason-Luke/dp/1495472418/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393063815&sr=8-1&keywords=interview+with+a+master
FØLG Jason Luke på Twitter: https://twitter.com/JasonLukeAuthor
LIKE Jason Luke på Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JasonLukeAuthor

About majasf

Single mom
This entry was posted in Personal Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

